Nov 5, 2012

World Fantasy Awards are in for 2012


Locus Online has the results from the Word Fantasy Convention.  The winners for each category are below if you wish to see the full list please go here.


  • Osama, Lavie Tidhar (PS Publishing)


  • “A Small Price to Pay for Birdsong”, K.J. Parker (Subterranean Winter 2011)

Short Story:

  • “The Paper Menagerie”, Ken Liu (F&SF 3-4/11)


  • The Weird, Ann & Jeff VanderMeer, eds. (Corvus; Tor, published May 2012)



  • John Coulthart

Special Award Professional:

  • Eric Lane, for publishing in translation – Dedalus books

Special Award Non-Professional:

  • Raymond Russell & Rosalie Parker, for Tartarus Press

The World Fantasy Awards Lifetime Achievement Winners for 2012 are Alan Garner and George R.R. Martin.

Now I can’t really be disappointed at these results.  Really it’s a celebration of the genre and for people to have been nominated is almost as good as winning.  The warm glow one gets from being recognised is some times more important than sales or taking home a bust of Lovecraft.

I secretly hoped that Kathleen Jennings might win in the Artist Category and that Lisa Hannett’s Bluegrass Symphony might take out the collection category.  Maybe next year.

To the winners, congratulations.

Did you enjoy this post? Would you like to read more? You can subscribe to the blog through a reader,by Email or Follow me on twitter.


Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...