Nov 21, 2010

Aurealis Awards

I first picked up Aurealis back at issue 12.  That was so long ago it was before the Internet.  I lived in a rural community at the time and I think I managed to snaffle a couple more issues at the newsagent when the person that ordered them in decided not to buy them.

Its good to hear then that with Issue 44 they are celebrating 20 years of successful operation.

But on to the Awards
Aurealis magazine's publishers, Chimera, instituted the Aurealis Awards in 1995 as a way to recognize Australian  writers of science fiction, fantasy and horror.  In 2004 Fantastic Queensland held the awards and in 2010 SpecFaction NSW have picked up the baton.

SpecFaction is also holding a fund raising auction for the awards.  You can checkout what's on offer at HorrorScope.

Who can enter?
From the horses mouth:
Any work of speculative fiction written by an Australian citizen of permanent resident and published for the first time between 1 November 2009 and 31 December 2010 is eligible to be entered.
 The deadline is December 31st, but visit the awards site for further details .


Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...